TESLA Guitarist, FRANK HANNON Steps Out Solo...

First of 3 albums of 'cover' songs coming in late-January 2018.

December 15, 2017

© Randy Miramontez | Dreamstime

FRANK HANNON, the hot shot lead guitarist for Sacramento hard rockers, TESLA, will issue the first of a planned 3 album project towards the end of January. Titled "From One Place… To Another," the album(s) will feature Hannon's versions of other people songs. Hannon, who has previously released 3 solo albums (2005's 'Guitarz From Marz,' 'Gypsy Highway' from 2010, and 'Six String Soldiers' in 2012) recently told the on-line site Blabbermouth that he "started this project a few years ago and it has evolved substantially with the help of my friends. What started as learning a few songs to sing turned into multiple albums of cover songs, tributes and collaborations with many inspirational artists." Joining Hannon on the albums are a number of guest artists, including Duane Betts (son of Dickey Betts), Former HEART guitarist, Roger Fisher, Blackberry Smoke's Paul Jackson, and many others. The concept of albums of 'cover versions' is not new to Hannon, as TESLA released 2 albums of Classic Rock covers (2002's "Real To Reel," & "Real To Reel Vol 2.") that paid tribute to some of the songs that influenced the band. Speaking of his own influences, Mr. Hannon said, "The songs that I contributed to TESLA, 'What You Give', 'Gettin' Better' and 'Love Song', have always had an acoustic, country or bluesy vibe to them. I love to sing and my father-in-law Dickey Betts encouraged me to step up to the microphone with guitar in hand. He sang many hits in the ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND and 'Blue Sky' is one of my all-time favorites." (Listen to Hannon's version of 'Blue Sky' below) The majority of the songs on "From One Place... To Another" were recorded while on tour with TESLA in dressing rooms, hotels, buses and even bathrooms using a handheld recorder. Hannon also went to friends' houses to capture performances and traded files over the Internet, bringing home the digital files to mix in his studio. Frank Hannon will finish off this year with a few solo performances, and plans to announce more dates in 2018...Rock On Frank Hannon!

"From One Place… To Another Vol. 1" track listing:

01. Blue Sky feat. Duane Betts (Dickey Betts / ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND)
02. Call Me The Breeze feat. Paul Jackson of BLACKBERRY SMOKE (JJ Cale, made famous by LYNYRD SKYNYRD)
03. Under The Milky Way feat. Duane Betts (THE CHURCH)
04. Jim Dandy To the Rescue feat. Tommy Curiale & Alyson Kimball of JOHNNY WINTERS BAND
(Lincoln Chase, made famous by Laverne Baker & BLACK OAK ARKANSAS)
05. You're My Best Friend (John Deacon made famous by QUEEN)
06. Garden Party feat. Matthew & Gunnar Nelson (Rick Nelson)
07. SunRise In Texas (BLACKBERRY SMOKE, Michael Tolcher)
08. I Hear Ya Knockin' (Dave Bartholomew)
09. Joy To The World feat. Ron Keel (Hoyt Axton)
10. Four Letter Word (Lukas Nelson)