STEPPENWOLF To Mark 50th Anniversary w/ 3-CD Restrospective

41 tracks, including 5 rare/unreleased songs!

March 7, 2018

© Randy Miramontez |

Iconic Rock band STEPPENWOLF will mark their upcoming 50th anniversary with the release of the "definitive career retrospective,' appropriately titled, 'Steppenwolf At 50.'  The 3 CD set, which arrives March 16th, offers 41 tracks from the band's 13 studio albums, the first of which was released in 1968. Included amongst all of the band's instantly recognizable hits-'Born To Be Wild,' 'Magic Carpet Ride,' 'The Pusher,' and 'Rock Me,' will be 5 rare and/or previously unreleased songs. (check the track listing below) One of those songs, 'Compared To What,' recently premiered on the Guitar World website, and is described as having "the classic STEPPENWOLF sound — authoritative, scooped-but-solid guitars, growling vocals and-in this case — a satisfying jam section that's punctuated by tight drumming and pulsating bass." The new set was personally supervised by founder, JOHN KAY and his long-time manager, Ron Rainey, and in the liner notes for the set, Kay thanks Steppenwolf band members (past & present) as well as their loyal 'Wolf Pack' fans. The Steppenwolf 50th Anniversary Tour starts this weekend (March 10th)

"Steppenwolf At 50" track listing:
Disc 1:

01. Screaming Night Hog
02. From Here To There Eventually (alternate version)*
03. Angel Drawers*
04. For Ladies Only
05. You Win Again
06. My Sportin' Life
07. Drift Away
08. Straight Shootin' Woman
09. Caroline (Are You Ready For The Outlaw World)
10. Skullduggery
11. Hold Your Head Up
12. Hot Night In A Cold Town
13. Give Me News I Can Use
14. Ain't Nothin' Like It Used To Be
15. Magic Carpet Ride (Performed With Grand Master Flash and The Furious Five)

Disc 2:

01. Hold On (Never Give Up Never Give In)
02. Rock & Roll Rebels
03. Give Me Life
04. Rise & Shine
05. The Wall
06. Rock & Roll War
07. Feed The Fire
08. Rock Steady
09. Down In New Orleans
10. Business Is Business
11. Compared To What*
12. Labor Of Love*
13. For The Women In My Life

Disc 3 (All Tracks Recorded Live: 1992-1995):

01. Move Over
02. Rock Me
03. I'm Movin' On
04. Sookie Sookie
05. I'm Your Hootchie Cootchie Man
06. Hey Lawdy Mama
07. Desperation
08. Ride With Me
09. Snowblind Friend
10. Monster/Suicide/America
11. Magic Carpet Ride
12. Born To Be Wild
13. The Pusher