THE BAND's Debut, 'Music From Big Pink' Turns 50 Years Old

Remixed/Expanded box set arrives late-August

June 29, 2018

© Bryndin |

Few debut albums pack the kind of punch that 'Music From Big Pink' by THE BAND does, and the album that put the spotlight on the musicians that were formerly known as 'Dylan's back-up band' is turning 50 years old! Like many other bands of the era, The Band's music has never been duplicated, and after a half-century since it's release, it still sounds as fresh and original as it did in 1968...Presenting a unique blend of musical styles-country, blues, R&B, gospel, soul, rockabilly, hymns, funeral dirges, brass band music, folk and rock ‘n’ roll, the Band created a timeless new style that has had a lasting impact on the course of popular music. The album, named after the pink house in upstate New York where the music was written, and featuring cover art by Bob Dylan, also has some of The Band's most enduring and popular songs: " 'The Weight,' 'This Wheel's On Fire,' & 'Tears of Rage.' A 50th Anniversary box set of 'Music From Big Pink' is scheduled for release on August 31st, and will be available in 3 versions: a Super Deluxe CD/Blu-ray/2-LP/7-inch vinyl box set with a hardbound book; 1-CD, digital, 180-gram 2-LP black vinyl, and limited edition 180-gram 2-LP pink vinyl packages. All of the Anniversary Edition configurations feature a new stereo mix for the album, from the original four-track analog masters. The 50th Anniversary Edition’s CD, digital and boxed set configurations also include five outtakes and alternate recordings from the ‘Big Pink’ sessions and a previously unreleased a cappella version of “I Shall Be Released.” The boxed set also includes an exclusive reproduction of the Band’s 1968 7-inch vinyl single for “The Weight”/“I Shall Be Released” in their new stereo mixes and a hardbound book with a new essay by noted music journalist David Fricke and classic photos by Elliott Landy. The uniqueness of The Band's stunning debut, and their music in general, is accurately described by the late LEVON HELM in his 1993 memoir, 'This Wheels' On Fire,' who said, “We wanted Music from Big Pink to sound like nothing anyone else was doing. This was our music, honed in isolation from the radio and contemporary trends.”  You can pre-order the new box set HERE.




Music from Big Pink (50th Anniversary Edition) (CD; Digital)
2018 stereo mix (included in the box set and available individually)
1. Tears Of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come
3. In A Station
4. Caledonia Mission
5. The Weight
6. We Can Talk
7. Long Black Veil
8. Chest Fever
9. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel’s On Fire
11. I Shall Be Released
Bonus Tracks:
12. Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
13. Tears Of Rage (Alternate Take)
14. Long Distance Operator (Outtake)
15. Lonesome Suzie (Alternate Take)
16. Key To The Highway (Outtake)
17. I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)