Coming Soon: RUSH's 'Permanent Waves' 40th Anniversary Edition!

Super Deluxe Edition drops March 27, 2020

February 19, 2020
Kevin Winter

Kevin Winter / Getty Images


Legendary Canadian Rock Powerhouse RUSH issued 'Permanent Waves,' their 7th studio album on January 14, 1980, and led by the wide airplay and success of the song, 'The Spirit of Radio,' it afforded the band their first real chart success up to that point in their career. Now, 40 years after it's release, a new, 40th Anniversary Edition of 'Permanent Waves' is set for release in late March. The 'Permanent Waves'  Super Deluxe Edition will feature two CDs, three 180-gram audiophile LPs and a 40-page hardcover book filled with reimagined artwork by original album designer Hugh Syme, unreleased photos from the band’s archive and an exclusive 12,000-word essay. The release marks the first time that the 2015 'Abbey Road Remaster' of the original album is being made available on CD. The 2nd disc in the set features previously unreleased 'live' performances (from 3 different cities) recorded during the 1980 Permanent Waves World Tour. (Listen to the live version of 'The Spirit of Radio' below!) Other goodies in the new set include 2 replica tour programs of the official Permanent Waves world tour 1980 program, band member replica backstage laminates, a 24” x 36” double-sided poster showcasing the original album cover model and photos of each band member recording at Le Studio, and three Neil Peart handwritten lyric sheets for “The Spirit of Radio,” “Entre Nous” and “Natural Science.”

Rush Permanent Waves Track Listing

The Spirit Of Radio


Jacob’s Ladder

Entre Nous

Different Strings

Natural Science

Live Tracks

Beneath, Between & Behind (Manchester)

By-Tor & The Snow Dog (London)

Xanadu (London)

The Spirit Of Radio (Manchester)

Natural Science (Manchester)

The Trees (Manchester)

Cygnus X-1 (London)

Cygnus X-1 Book II (London)

Closer To The Heart (Manchester)

Jacob’s Ladder (Missouri)
Freewill (London)