25 Years After The Fact, 'Hell Freezes Over' Again

1994 Eagles' reunion album will be reissued on vinyl only

February 27, 2019

author generated

When all the bitterness and acrimony between members of The EAGLES came to a head leading to their break-up in 1980, Don Henley was quoted as saying that the iconic American rock band would get back together when 'Hell Freezes Over.' Well, it was 14 years before it started getting 'frosty' in Hades, and the 'Long Run'-era line-up of The Eagles-Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Joe Walsh, Timothy B. Schmidt, and Don Felder-did indeed get back together, recording 2 reunion sessions in late April of 1994. At the beginning of the concert, Glenn Frey joked to the audience: "For the record, we never broke up; we just took a 14-year vacation". The result of those sessions was the 'Hell Freezes Over' album and the MTV broadcast of their performance, which subsequently led to a 2 year tour, over 9 millions copies of the album sold, and a 2-week period on top of the record charts. It's just been announced on the Eagles website that a 25th Anniversary, vinyl-only reissue will be available starting March 8th. The vinyl version of the album has previously only been made available before as an import and as part of the recent 'Legacy' box set. The 4-album set will be pressed on double 180-gram black vinyl, and will feature all 15 tracks from the original release. The Eagles have remained 'un-retired' ever since; they continued touring and delighting their fans around the world, recorded new material ('Long Road Out of Eden'), conducted a 'Farewll Tour II' in 2004, and even after the death of founding member Glenn Frey, they continue to present and enhance their legacy with the inclusion of Deacon Frey and Vince Gill. Rock On, Eagles!

Hell Freezes Over Track List

Side 1
1. Get Over It
2. Love Will Keep Us Alive
3. The Girl From Yesterday
4. Learn To Be Still

Side 2
1. Tequila Sunrise
2. Hotel California
3. Wasted Time
4. Pretty Maids All In A Row

Side 3
1. I Can’t Tell You Why
2. New York Minute
3. The Last Resort

Side 4
1. Take It Easy
2. In The City
3. Life In The Fast Lane
4. Desperado